Fight for Your Right to Smile! (5 Ways to Relieve Stress)

You ever have one of those days where it seems like everything that could go wrong has? That was my day last Thursday. I realized one of the jobs I recently started, I absolutely hate. I broke my Iphone and then my laptop started acting up. I was so frustrated I wanted to scream. Finally when I was at the end of my rope, I remembered my favorite quote “This too shall pass” and I started to feel a little better. I thought I’d share with you today, these 5 Tips to Relieve Stress:

1. Put Down Your Cellphone and Put Your Computer Away- This one is tough to do, but I guarantee if you put your cellphone down, and turn your computer off for a half an hour, you will feel a burden lifted.

2. Take a Break from Someone Who Stresses You Out- We all have that one friend/cousin/sibling who always has some drama going on. It’s all well and good to be supportive, but it’s hard to deal with someone else’s stress if you are struggling with your own. Tell that person that you’ve got a lot you’re dealing with at the moment and that you’ll call them the moment things are in order.

3. Be Thankful- Even in the hardest of times, try and remember things that you are thankful for. A therapist friend says that keeping a thanks journal and writing down three things a day you are thankful for makes most people feel less depressed. It helps them to see what they still have that is good in their lives.

4. Get Some Sleep- It’s hard to not feel stressed when you are not getting enough sleep. Very few things feel as nice as waking up well rested.

5. Have a Laugh- We’ve all heard the quote “Laughter is the Best Medicine”. Nothing puts me in a better mood than watching a comedy. So next time you’re down, turn on Comedy Central, or call that girlfriend who always has you laughing. Laughter will definitely lift your spirits.

Hopefully this post will encourage you to smile the next time you’re feeling stressed out.

Happy Monday!

 

Image from http://www.weheartit.com

18 thoughts on “Fight for Your Right to Smile! (5 Ways to Relieve Stress)

  1. Have a Laugh, the best medicine… great post.
    BTW I would like to know your oddities… just out of curiosity… and spare me of that … kills the cat and so and so…
    Great post again!

  2. Hi- thanks for the visit. Your list is solid and real- have done any combinations of those 5 when overloading, works pretty good! Of course one could add art making to the list :)

  3. Very good list. I especially like number three. Only I call it my Gratitude Journal.

    Every time I feel upset or stressed or plain home-sick, I just read any random page and my gloom just disappears. It’s a great stress buster.

    I’d like to offer one thought of my own to your awesome list- Music. Songs have a way of making the blues just melt away.

      • I listen to A R Rahman. He is an Indian music director who composes music in different Indian languages. I also like peppy Bollywood music- it’s foot tapping and energizing. Definitely recommended when one is feeling low.
        What about you? Who’s your favourite?

      • I really like indian music! I will def check that director out. I’ve been listening to a lot of the Clash recently. And Sade, always puts me in a relaxed mood.

  4. I am now going to put my computer away, have some relax while smiling all the time… then I blissfully fall asleep and when wake up tomorrow… will be thankful for another beautiful day ;) Superb post! Thank you! ;)

  5. This is so true! And don’t forget the power of prayer. :) Nothing beats a quiet time with the Lord. This is the real stress buster! Thank you for visiting my blog and liking one of my entries. I hope to read more of your works. God bless you! :)

Leave a Reply

