Say What You Really Feel. (9 Steps to Better Communication)

I’ve always considered myself a great communicator. I thought I had the “Gift of Gab”, but I’ve recently come to the realization, that I have a hard time speaking up when it comes to things that NEED to be addressed. For example, if I’m mad at a girlfriend for something she’s done, instead of addressing it, I just ignore her till I’m over it. I know, I know REAL mature, but I hate confrontations with people I care about.  That said, I’m going to work on it. I’m trying to learn how to address the awkward, uncomfortable situations. I came across this article today 9 Steps to Better Communication, and I found it to be extremely helpful. Maybe it can help you address and fix things between you and your loved ones.

Happy Monday!

Photo taken from http://www.weheartit.com

12 thoughts on “Say What You Really Feel. (9 Steps to Better Communication)

  1. This is great, thanks for the share…many people have a hard time communicating, especially with loved ones and about the important stuff. But remember, no matter how hard it might be to say or if it will make someone else unhappy, keeping it inside will only hurt you! Thanks for the share, this will help a lot of people.

  2. We share THIS in common! I’ll rather die inside than confront folks that hurt me. It’s not fair on me but hey, life is unfair too! Nice to meet you here gorgeous! :)

  3. I’m usually afraid that I’m going to hurt someone’s feelings. But I have gotten so much better at this though and do okay speaking up depending on the situation. Thanks goodness because I was never speaking up at one point.

  4. I actually am good at that, some people take those long lines and then give the point, but when it comes to me, something irritates me, I say it straight forward with out any hesitation, except when it comes to mom, because well, I just love her too much to tell her, instead I ignore and I end up seeing my own mistake.

    What puts me in an awkward position is to start a conversation with a stranger, every part of me telling to introduce my self, yet I feel like sitting on the chair and being isolated, don’t you feel that way sometimes?

    • Haha you and I are a lot alike. When it comes to certain things I am very outspoken, at times abrasive. I’ve always had an easy time meeting new people because I learned that most people want to talk about themselves lol. The key is to ask them questions about themselves until you feel more comfortable around them and you want to open up. At least I know that always works for me. Let me know if it works for you too!

  5. Wow… that is so true! But again, the key to maintain a conversation is quite easy, all I have to do is start it, which makes me hesitate, thats it [:
    Thank you for your advice! I know that it is true, and I should try it sometime.

Leave a Reply

