Get Results: 3 Amazing Tips for Running

I have no endurance. NONE. Zip. Nada. Zilch. When I ran track, I only did sprints. I constantly blamed my asthma for not being able to run long distance, when in reality I just didn’t think I had it in me. So when I decided recently (as in yesterday) to sign up with my boyfriend and friends to do the Down and Dirty Mud Run in Miami, I knew  I was getting in wayyyyyy over my head. I guess that’s why I want to do it. I hate stepping out of my comfort zone when it comes to physical activities, but I also know that I’m in a exercising slump. I’ve gotten unbelievably lazy in the past several months and I need a physical goal to work towards. I also vowed that this would be the year to try as many new things as possible, so adding a 10k to the list just made sense. After talking to a few friends who’ve trained for various races, and reading a handful of  articles on the subject, here are three of what seems to be the best tips for new runners:

1. Start Small- Don’t go too hard, too fast. You’ll become frustrated easily if you push yourself to do too much in the beginning. I was told to start by walking for two minutes and then running for one minute and repeating that process for 20 minutes.

2. Eat Better- This is a given. I know it’s so much easier said then done, but eating badly will make you feel extremely sluggish, especially when it comes to running. Trust me, I found out the hard way yesterday when I attempted to run after having Chick-Fil-A for lunch. Major Fail. Also cut back on the amount of alcohol you consume!

3. Be Consistent- I read that it takes about four weeks to build enough endurance for you to be able to run at a comfortable pace for an extended period of time. I was told you should run at least 3-5 times a week to reach your goal.

I’ll be using these tips myself over the next couple of months. The race is May 6th. Wish me luck!

Picture taken from http://www.weheartit.com

4 thoughts on “Get Results: 3 Amazing Tips for Running

  1. Up where I live, we have the Tough Mudder and the Mud Run…I signed up for both and I’m DEFINITELY in way over my head. But I think that’s why I’m doing it – to force myself to do something that isn’t comfortable…challenges!

      • Will do if you do likewise! So far it’s been a lot of HIIT work outs on the treadmill, but I haven’t done much as far as upper body strength training…hate weights..

      • I hear you! I like weight training because it burns calories even after you stop, but it’s hard to motivate myself to do it. I’ve been trying to run outside as much as possible, because I’ve been getting really bored on the treadmill. Any tips for fighting boredom while on the mill?

Leave a Reply

